Hi everyone! 🙂

My name is Christina Yan, the new 2011 Miss Teen Asia Sacramento. It’s literally been a whirlwind of excitement since I won and I’m so blessed for all the friends and family that came that night, April 23rd, to support me and help me persevere.

I know it may sound cheesy, but I do want to say thank you for all of those that supported me and helping me throughout rehearsals and the pageant; the staff. Also I want to say a congrats to all of the girls who participated with me in the pageant itself especially my fellow Miss Teen Asia Sacramento contestants. We are honestly now “sisters” in every sense going through this process together. I’ve met so many new friends and that are now practically family members. I believe we will honestly be friends for the rest of our lives.

Throughout rehearsals and going to events to promote the pageant, I learned so much about myself that I didn’t know. I gained more self-confidence that I thought I could, I know myself to be beautiful and that everyone else is in their own way. I also learned the true quality of patience having to practice my walking, my way of talking, etc.

On April 23rd, the night was hectic. It was honestly one of the best times of my life though, hanging out with the girls backstage singing along and having a good time while competing at the same time. We were never mean or rude to each other as most pageant movies make it out to be. It honestly isn’t like that at all, the experience is amazing and I encourage everyone to be in one. Getting your hair done and makeup and wearing beautiful clothes isn’t a bad thing either. 🙂

I hope I can make all of you proud and continue to be the woman that you all expect me to be. I can’t wait to serve my year with new Miss Asia Sacramento, Namy Herr, and the rest of our court! I hope I can improve everything I can and overcome even more boundaries! Thank you so much!

Christina Yan

Miss Teen Asia Sacramento 2011

