Since becoming apart of the Miss Asia Sacramento family, it has been absolutely fabulous. Since I was young it has always been a dream of mine to participate in a beauty pageant. I can finally say “I did it!” This achievement sets a remarkable point in my life thus far and this achievement encourages me to continue striving for all my aspirations. I saw that through Miss Asia Sacramento, I’d be able to be an ambassador for our Asian American community in the greater Sacramento area and also a role model to young people as well.

These past couples of months have been the time of my life and am grateful for the many opportunities given to me. All the events that I have gone to were each special to me and can not say I favor any one in particular; they all allowed me to meet great people and represent my role as Miss Asia Sacramento. I’ve been able to network and meet with wonderful people such as Naima Mora, from America’s Next Top Model; Dr. Randy Kajioka who is Vice President of the Board of Pharmacy in California, and many more individuals who have become essentials in my networking book for future references. Overall, the events I’ve been invited to and attended allows me to practice my skills of elegance, poise, and humility whether it be me in a fancy evening gown at the APAPA 10th year anniversary dinner or in a cap and t-shirt at the SPCA Doggy Dash; I’ve found value in every event.

Since beginning college in late August as a freshman at UC Merced; I still embrace my title as Miss Asia Sacramento. I find myself talking about the organization and what the goals of this organization are to people often! People here on campus and in the community recognize who I am (yes even without the crown and sash!) and give only positive praises about this scholarship organization. Since moving here I keep myself occupied with community service as well; I work hands on with the Merced Police Department Mentorship program and will be volunteering at the Hospital in the Spring. But the most exciting thing so far here is that I was given the opportunity to help with the 1st Miss UC Merced pageant; it brought back wonderful memories from last spring.

Lastly, I send words of encouragement to girls reading this. Take part of this pageant and allow yourself to be uncomfortable in order to find your comfort. By being apart of this family you will be able to build an everlasting sisterhood with pageant sisters and mentorship from staff members who care dearly about you. Miss Asia Sacramento has taught me to be the best that I can be and helped me acquire essential skills for any occasion. Put your best foot forward and know… you’re dearly beautiful, intelligent, and will be a great role model to the community. I believe in you.

Love, Namy

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

