On February 26, 2012 the Miss Asia Sacramento Scholarship Organization hosted our first get together with the new contestants for the 2012 pageant.

I still can remember every second of what went on during the 2011 luncheon… I arrived 30 minutes late and felt even more nervous because everyone was on time and in place.  I was so excited to see all the girls who would encounter the “MAS Journey” with me. And I can’t believe how fast one year has come by! I couldn’t believe I wasn’t sitting in their spot.. rather I had on the crown as Miss Asia Sacramento. It all is still so surreal that one year ago I was in there 13 contestants’ shoes.

The luncheon was held at Oshima Sushi Lounge and had wonderful speakers come talk to the new girls. Thank you to Terri Johnson for teaching us how to be lady-like and have proper dining etiquettes in any situation. Not only that but we had financial advisers come in and taught us how to save $$, build good credit, and so much more–thank you! Last but not least, we had our wonderful Shiesedo Cosmetics sponsor come in to teach us more about how to take care of our skin, what kinds of products is best for certain skin types, and gave goody bags to us as well!

This event was the first time the contestants got to meet one another and mingle. I had a wonderful time learning names and getting to know the girls. I provided them with a goody bag filled with what I call “PAGEANT ESSENTIALS!” I hope they liked it! In addition, I was able to interact with the contestants and learn more about them. I learned that Kaila grew up in Costa Rica, Helena is a make up artist for MAC, Jamie has an ambition to attend Stanford University. All of the girls made a great impression on me and cannot wait to keep working with them and for them to build lasting sisterhood friendships.

ImageMiss Contestant Judy Lee meeting Teen Contestant Rica 

ImageMeeting Kaila and finding out she’s from Costa Rica!!

ImageWith Miss Contestant, Christina Lee

ImageSnapping a few photos before lunch.

ImageHELLO to our beautiful 2012 Miss Asia Sacramento Contestants!!!!

I know this group of girls will experience the same feeling of sisterhood as I did! They all are so beautiful inside and out, I know they will represent the organization great and have the drive to move far in the future. Good luck to you girls and see you all soon!

With Love,

Namy Herr

Miss Asia Sacramento 2011

